Saalburg Roman Fortress - Limes world cultural heritage site

An excursion back into the ancient world – just two kilometers from Bad Homburg on one of the Taunus slopes. An excursion that is unmatched anywhere else – the only Roman Fortress in the world to have been rebuilt is situated on a slope alongside the B456 heading toward Usingen – the Saalburg. Together with the Limes, the Roman boundary wall, it became a UNESCO world cultural heritage site in 2005.

Tours around the Fortress, which was rebuilt around 1900 at the request of Emperor Wilhelm II, through the museum with its archaeological finds, staged rooms and models, and past the foundation walls of the village that was once located outside the fortifications, and numerous programs and special events provide insight into the world of the Romans that will fascinate both young and old.

Cultural explorations around the Saalburg can be combined with a relaxing enjoyment of nature. The "Rundweg Saalburg" is 2.4 kilometers long and takes about 45 minutes to walk, passing archaeological monuments and reconstructions with six boards providing information in German, English and French.

And then, of course, there is the Limes: The remains in the Taunus constitute some of the best preserved traces of the Upper German-Raetian Limes, which is the largest ground monument in Europe. The "Limeserlebnispfad" is about 30 kilometers long, and encompasses all of the elements that made up the Roman border installation: Ridges and trenches, and the ruins of watch towers and fortresses of different sizes.

An excursion to the Saalburg can also be a culinary experience. The Taberna museum café offers Roman food and drinks, along with other options. The neighboring Landgasthof Saalburg offers delicious meals or snacks, which can also be enjoyed in the garden in good weather.

Römerkastell SaalburgRömerkastell Saalburg
Archäologischer Park
Saalburg 1
61350 Bad Homburg
Tel.: +49 (6175) 9374-0
Fax: +49 (6175) 9374-11

www.saalburgmuseum.de
Map

Römerkastell Saalburg - Welterbe Limes

Ein Ausflug in die Antike – nur etwa zwei Kilometer entfernt von der Bad Homburg auf einem Bergzug des Taunus. Ein Ausflug, den man nirgends sonst erleben kann, denn auf der Anhöhe an der B456 Richtung Usingen steht das weltweit einzige rekonstruierte Römerkastell: die Saalburg. Zusammen mit dem römischen Grenzwall Limes gehört sie seit 2005 zum UNESCO-Welterbe.

Rundgänge durch das auf Wunsch von Kaiser Wilhelm II. um 1900 wieder aufgebaute Kastell, durch die Museumsräume mit archäologischen Funden, inszenierten Räumen und Modellen, an den Grundmauern des einstigen außerhalb des Kastells gelegenen Lagerdorfes vorbei und die zahlreichen Aktionstage und Sonderveranstaltungen geben Jung und Alt einen faszinierenden Einblick in die Welt der Römer.

Rund um die Saalburg können Kulturerlebnisse mit erholsamem Genuss der Natur verbunden werden. Über 2,4 Kilometer – das sind etwa 45 Minuten Gehzeit – führt der „Rundweg Saalburg“ vorbei an archäologischen Denkmälern und Rekonstruktionen, über die auf sechs Tafeln in Deutsch, Englisch und Französische informiert wird.

Und dann natürlich der Limes: Seine Überreste im Taunus zählen zu den am besten erhaltenen des Obergermanisch-Raetischen Limes, der das größte Bodendenkmal Europas ist. Auf dem rund 30 Kilometer langen „Limeserlebnispfad“ sind alle Elemente der römischen Grenzanlage zu finden: Wall und Graben sowie die Ruinen von Wachtürmen und Kastellen unterschiedlicher Größe.

Auch kulinarisch stärken kann man sich bei einem Ausflug auf die Saalburg. Römische Speisen und Getränke, aber nicht nur diese, hält das Museumscafé Taberna bereit. Im benachbarten Landgasthof Saalburg werden leckere Speisen angeboten oder eine Brotzeit, die man bei schönem Wetter auch im Biergarten genießen kann.

Römerkastell SaalburgRömerkastell Saalburg
Archäologischer Park
Saalburg 1
61350 Bad Homburg
Tel.: (06175) 9374-0
Fax: (06175) 9374-11

www.saalburgmuseum.de
Karte