RhineMain Regional Park

Most people associate the airport, banks, trade fair, high-rise buildings and business center with the term "Mainhattan". But the Frankfurt Rhine-Main region has so much more to offer. It has open, intact areas of scenery that stretch into the core of the built-up area, and any amount of culture, leisure and adventure facilities. The Regionalpark RheinMain allows you to discover them all – via the regional park routes.

They take you past agricultural landscapes, idyllic "scenery islands", monuments to industrial culture, historic gardens and parks – including the Landgraves' Garden Landscape in Bad Homburg – and important sites from pre- and early historic times, from the middle ages and modern times. The routes link attractive destinations, observation points or havens of peace of quiet, together with activity and other leisure facilities for families with children. Experience "Living History", or heighten your awareness of the factors that influence the environment and nature in the region.

The network is being gradually extended. The regional park routes already in operation cover a length of 350 kilometers encompassing 180 attractive destinations. Ultimately, the route network is planned to cover more than 1,200 kilometers, stretching from the green belt around Frankfurt – the "heart of the regional park" – to Rüdesheim in the Rheingau to the west, to the Wetterau region in the north, down to Hessisches Ried in the south, and across to the Kinzigtal in the east.

Regionalpark RheinMain

Flughafen, Banken, Messe, Hochhäuser, Wirtschaftszentrum, das ist das Bild, das sich mit „Mainhattan“ verbindet. Aber die Region Frankfurt Rhein-Main ist weit mehr. Sie hat offene, intakte Landschaftsräume bis in den Kern des Ballungsraums hinein und jede Menge an Kultur sowie Freizeit- und Erlebnismöglichkeiten zu bieten. Der Regionalpark RheinMain erschließt sie – über die Regionalparkrouten.

Sie führen an landwirtschaftlichen Kulturlandschafen, idyllischen „Landschaftsinseln“, Monumenten der Industriekultur, historischen Gärten und Parks – darunter auch die „Landgräfliche Gartenlandschaft Bad Homburg“ – sowie bedeutenden Stätten der Vor- und Frühgeschichte, des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit vorbei. Die Wege vernetzen Attraktionen, Aussichtspunkte oder Orte der Ruhe, aber auch Möglichkeiten der aktiven Betätigung und Freizeitangebote für Familien mit Kindern. „Geschichte zum Anfassen“ kann erlebt werden oder es werden Sensibilitäten für die Umwelt und Natur in der Region geweckt.

Das Netz wird Stück für Stück erweitert. Entstanden sind bereits 350 Kilometer Regionalparkrouten mit 180 attraktiven Ausflugszielen. Die Planung sieht ein Routennetz von über 1200 Kilometern vor, das sich vom Frankfurter GrünGürtel, dem „Herzen des Regionalparks“, westlich bis nach Rüdesheim im Rheingau, nördlich bis in die Wetterau, bis zum Hessischen Ried im Süden und bis in das Kinzigtal nach Osten erstrecken soll.