Rheingau

The Rheingau region offers unlimited ways to spend a day out, and is just over half an hour's drive from Bad Homburg. It is best known as a haven for wine lovers. With some 3,000 hectares of vines, the Rheingau is one of the most important wine-growing regions in Germany. Vintners can be found in any and all of the towns. They will happily open their cellars for some delicious wine tasting. They are joined by cozy wine taverns and – in late summer and early fall, of course – by the numerous small and large wine festivals.

Anyone who likes to keep moving can hike or cycle, on the Leinweg along the Rhine, for example, or through the Rheinsteig forests, along the "Gebück" that protected the residents in the Rheingau against their enemies for 500 years, or they can follow the Riesling trail or other routes with such wonderfully sounding names as Flötenweg (flute trail).

Culture enthusiasts will love to visit the churches, the oldest of which dates back to the 12th century, or to be transported back to the history of the middle ages in one of a dozen fortresses, or to rediscover the glamour of former life in the castles.  The best known are Schloss Johannisberg and Schloss Vollrad. Maybe because they offer the perfect opportunity for combining culture with the enjoyment of wine? As does Kloster Eberbach. The beautifully maintained monastery was one of the settings for the film of Umberto Eco's "The Name of the Rose". Above all, however, it is a pilgrimage site for wine enthusiasts from around the world.

Rheingau

Unendliche Möglichkeiten, sich einen Ausflugstag zu vertreiben, sind im Rheingau zu finden, der nur eine gute halbe Autostunde von Bad Homburg entfernt liegt. Bekannt ist er vor allem durch die Freuden des Weingenusses. Mit ca. 3000 Hektar Rebfläche gehört der Rheingau zu den bedeutendsten Weinbaugebieten Deutschlands. In jedem Ort findet man Winzer, die ihre Keller gerne zum Verkosten ihrer köstlichen Getränke öffnen, lauschige Weinstuben und natürlich im Spätsommer, Herbst die vielen kleinen und großen Weinfeste.

Wer gerne sportlich aktiv ist, kann wandern oder Rad fahren, etwa auf dem Leinweg am Rhein, durch die Wälder des Rheinsteigs, am „Gebück“ entlang, das die Rheingauer 500 Jahre lang gegen Feinde schützte, auf dem Rieslingpfad oder auf anderen Routen, die auch mal so einen klangvollen Namen wie Flötenweg tragen.

Kulturliebhaber schauen sich die Kirchen an, von denen die älteste aus dem 12. Jahrhundert stammt, lassen sich in einem Dutzend Burgen in die Geschichte des Mittelalters entführen oder entdecken den Glanz des einstigen Lebens in den Schlössern. Schloss Johannisberg und Schloss Vollrads sind die bekanntesten. Vielleicht weil man hier die Kultur mit dem Weingenuss verbinden kann? Genauso wie in Kloster Eberbach? Das hervorragend erhaltene Kloster war einer der Schauplätze der Verfilmung von Umberto Ecos „Der Name der Rose“. Vor allem aber ist es eine Pilgerstätte für Weinliebhaber aus aller Welt.