Cities and towns in the region

Oberursel

Oberursel, host of the Hessentag in 2011! Despite the modern way of life, the town still retains a touch of its fascinating past. The houses in the Old Town, which were falling into disrepair, have been undergoing restoration since the 1970s, with loving attention to detail. The "Historischer Stadtrundweg" is a guided tour that takes you around the picturesque alleys and past impressive buildings, such as the historic Rathaus or St. Ursula-Kirche with its high tower. Interesting shops and cozy pubs invite you to take a relaxed stroll around the town.

Oberursel calls itself the "Brunnenstadt" - the town of wells, because it has so many of them. Each year, the Brunnenkönigen – the Well Queen – is crowned, and the Brunnenfest, which takes place on the weekend after Whitsun, is one of the highlights of the year, alongside the many other events that are hosted in the town.

Water used to be the town's lifeline. In the middle ages, there were 13 mills on the Urselbach. Some remain to this day, while only traces of others can still be seen. Strolling along the Mühlenwanderweg – the mill trail – allows you to experience nature at the "Biotop Bach", the stream biotope. The fauna and flora, the development of the mills, and ecological progress are described on 24 boards along the way.

Friedrichsdorf

Friedrichsdorf has given itself not one, but two sobriquets - Zwieback (rusk) town, and Philipp-Reis town. The first zwieback factory was built toward the end of the 18th century, and was later followed by several more. The quality of zwieback made in Friedrichsdorf meant it was coveted the world over. And Philipp Reis invented the telephone in Friedrichsdorf in 1861 and spoke the legendary sentence: "The horse does not eat cucumber salad." Alexander Graham Bell refined the telephone invented by Reis, until it was ready to be brought to market.

Philipp-Reis-Haus, with its Philipp Reis collection and exhibits that show the history of the town, is one popular sight worth seeing, as is the picturesque center of Burgholzhausen, one of three suburbs of Friedrichsdorf. In the town itself, buildings that are steeped in history vie charmingly with the modern urban ambiance. An opulent choice of restaurants, bistros and pubs and a broadly diverse cultural program ensure that evenings are never boring.

Signposted hiking trails, such as the Rundwanderweg, which leads around Friedrichsdorf, are ideal for hiking close to the town or farther afield. Sports enthusiasts can choose between a minigolf course, exercise trail or outdoor swimming pool.

Königstein

In addition to the picturesque Old Town, the castle ruins are Königstein's most popular attraction. The castle was probably built in the 12 century, during Barbarossa's reign. Nowadays it forms the backdrop for cultural and festive events.

Königstein has been a spa since the 19th century; breathing the air has medicinal properties. Königstein is a recognized climatic spa and, since 2005, has been surrounded by a "healthy climate park" spanning 20 square kilometers, which is so far the only one of its kind in Germany. A total of 180 kilometers of nature can be discovered on foot on 34 trails that have been carefully designed for different levels of physical ability and fitness.

The healthy climate in the Königstein Kurpark, on the Herzwanderweg or many other hiking trails is equally beneficial to health. An indoor and outdoor pool are available for sports enthusiasts.

Kronberg

History is tangible at every step through Kronberg. The castle probably originates from the 12th century during Barbarossa's reign, and was restored and rebuilt in places during the Imperial age. It houses a museum that organizes interesting exhibitions.

Parts of the old town wall and the Eichentor – the oak gate that is the only remaining gateway into the town – bear witness to centuries long gone, as do the winding alleyways through Kronberg's Old Town. The Baroque age is reflected in the representative Receptur and the Streitkirche.

It was, not least, Victoria, the wife of Emperor Friedrich III who called herself Empress Friedrich, who made a visible impact on the town. She campaigned for the preservation of the medieval castle and, following the death of her husband in 1899 and a brief stay in Homburg, took up residence as a widow in Kronberg – in Schloss Friedrichshof, which was built for her, and which is now home to the luxurious and world-famous Schlosshotel Kronberg. The picturesque Viktoriapark is dedicated to her.

Frankfurt am Main

Frankfurt is a city of contrasts. Green havens of peace and quiet behind Germany's most impressive skyline, tranquility and homely coziness amidst the bustling international financial and trade fair center. And the modern cosmopolitan city can look back on a proud history, of which there is ample evidence. The Römer is just one example, which has been used as Frankfurt's city hall since 1405; the Kaiserdom, where ten German Emperors were crowned from 1365 onwards; Paulskirche, which is regarded as the birthplace of German democracy; and Goethe-Haus, which traces the life of Frankfurt's most famous citizen.

Museumsufer is home to one of the most important collections of museums in Germany. A dozen museums, side by side along the banks of the Main River, which focus on themes as divergent as architecture, movies and the visual arts. Eiserner Steg is the footbridge from which to gain the best view over Museumsufer and to the skyline. Built in 1869, the bridge is one of the city's best-known landmarks. And it takes pedestrians from "Hibb de Bach nach Dribb de Bach" – crossing the river from the center of Frankfurt to the suburb of Sachsenhausen on the other side, which is where they are located – the original Frankfurt Äppelwoi pubs serving cured ribs with sauerkraut, washed down by a "Stöffsche".

The city has a plethora of green havens: the Palmengarten, more than ten parks, some of which have a rich history, the town forest, the green belt, the botanical garden at the university, or the two zoos.

Städte in der Umgebung

Oberursel

Oberursel, die Hessentagsstadt 2011! Modernes Leben ist hier ebenso zuhause wie der Hauch einer faszinierenden Vergangenheit. Mit viel Liebe zum Detail wurden seit den 70er Jahren vom Verfall bedrohte Häuser in der Altstadt restauriert. Der „Historische Stadtrundweg“ führt durch die malerischen Winkel und an sehenswerten Bauwerken vorbei, wie das historische Rathaus oder die St. Ursula-Kirche mit ihrem hohen Turm. Interessante Geschäfte und gemütliche Lokale laden zu einem entspannten Bummel ein.

Oberursel nennt sich wegen seiner zahlreichen Brunnen die „Brunnenstadt“. Jährlich wird eine Brunnenkönigin gekürt und das am Wochenende nach Pfingsten stattfindende Brunnenfest zählt zu den Höhepunkten des ohnehin veranstaltungsreichen Jahres.

Wasser war früher die Lebensader der Stadt. Am Urselbach entstanden im Mittelalter 13 Mühlen. Einige blieben erhalten, von anderen sind noch Spuren zu sehen. Auf dem Mühlenwanderweg kann zugleich die Natur am Biotop Bach erlebt werden. Pflanzen- und Tierwelt, die Entwicklung der Mühlen und Ökologie wird an den dazu passenden Stellen auf 24 Schautafeln erläutert.

Friedrichsdorf

Gleich zwei Namen hat sich Friedrichsdorf gegeben: die Zwiebackstadt und die Philipp-Reis-Stadt. Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts entstand die erste von später einigen Zwiebackfabriken. Friedrichsdorfer Zwieback war ob seiner Qualität in der ganzen Welt begehrt. Und Philipp Reis hat 1861 in Friedrichsdorf das Telefon erfunden und den legendären Satz gesprochen: „Das Pferd frisst keinen Gurkensalat“. Alexander Graham Bell entwickelte das Reis’sche Telefon weiter und brachte es zur Marktreife.

Das Philipp-Reis-Haus mit seiner Philipp-Reis-Sammlung und ortsgeschichtlichen Exponaten ist eine der beliebten Sehenswürdigkeiten, genauso der pittoreske Ortskern von Burgholzhausen, einer von drei Stadtteilen Friedrichsdorfs. In der Stadt selbst stehen geschichtsträchtige Gebäude in einem reizvollen Kontrast zum modernen städtischen Ambiente. Eine üppige Palette an Restaurants, Bistros und Kneipen sowie ein breitgefächertes kulturelles Potpurri lassen die Abende nicht langweilig werden.

Markierte Wanderwege, wie der Friedrichsdorfer Rundwanderweg laden zu ausgedehnten Wanderungen in die nähere und weitere Umgebung ein. Minigolf-Anlage, Trimm-Pfad oder Freibad bieten sportlich interessierten Gästen ein reiches Betätigungsfeld.

Königstein

Die Burgruine ist, neben der malerischen Altstadt, die beliebteste Attraktion von Königstein. Wahrscheinlich im 12. Jahrhundert, also zu Barbarossas Zeiten, wurde die Burg erbaut. Vor der Kulisse der mächtigen Mauern finden heutzutage kulturelle Veranstaltungen und Feste statt.

Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert ist Königstein eine Kurstadt, in der Atmen zu Medizin wird. Das Heilklima ist staatlich anerkannt. Und seit dem Jahr 2005 gibt es rund um Königstein einen 20 Quadratkilometer großen, in Deutschland bislang einmaligen Heilklima-Park. Auf 34 leistungsphysiologisch vermessenen Wegen aller Schwierigkeitsgrade können insgesamt 180 Kilometer Natur erwandert werden. Die Routen werden je nach Fitness ausgesucht.

Aber auch im Königsteiner Kurpark, auf dem Herzwanderweg oder auf vielen weiteren Wanderwegen kommt das Heilklima der Gesundheit zugute. Für sportlich Aktive stehen außerdem das Kurbad und ein Freibad zur Verfügung.

Kronberg

Bei einem Spaziergang durch Kronberg erlebt man auf Schritt und Tritt Geschichte. Vermutlich aus Barbarossas Zeiten (12. Jahrhundert) stammt die Burg, die während der Kaiserzeit restauriert und in einigen Bereichen wieder aufgebaut wurde. In ihr ist ein Museum mit interessanten Ausstellungen zu finden.

Teile der alten Stadtmauer und das Eichentor als einziges erhaltenes Stadttor sprechen ebenso von längst vergangenen Jahrhunderten wie die verwinkelten Gassen der Kronberger Altstadt. Die Zeit des Barock findet sich in der repräsentativen Receptur und der Streitkirche wieder.

Sichtbare Spuren hinterließ nicht zuletzt Viktoria, die Gattin Kaiser Friedrichs III., die sich Kaiserin Friedrich nannte. Sie setzte sich für den Erhalt der mittelalterlichen Burg ein und sie nahm nach dem Tod ihres Mannes 1899 nach einiger Zeit Aufenthalt in Homburg ihren Witwensitz in Kronberg – im für sie erbauten Schloss Friedrichshof, in dem heute das luxuriöse und weithin bekannte Schlosshotel Kronberg untergebracht ist. Der malerische Viktoriapark ist ihr gewidmet.

Frankfurt am Main

In Frankfurt herrschen Kontraste. Hinter der imposantesten Skyline Deutschlands verbergen sich viele grüne Refugien, in der emsigen internationalen Finanz- und Messestadt findet sich jede Menge Beschaulichkeit und anheimelnde Gemütlichkeit. Und die moderne Weltmetropole schaut auf eine stolze Geschichte, für die es zahlreiche Zeugnisse gibt. Genannt seien nur der Römer, der seit 1405 als Frankfurts Rathaus dient, der Kaiserdom, in dem ab 1356 zehn deutsche Kaiser gekrönt wurden, die Paulskirche, die als Wiege der deutschen Demokratie gilt, und das Goethe-Haus, in dem man sich auf die Spuren von Frankfurts berühmtesten Sohn begibt.

Das Museumsufer ist eine der bedeutendsten Ansammlungen von Museen in Deutschland. Ein Dutzend Museen reihen sich am Main aneinander, die Themen reichen von Architektur über Film bis zur Bildenden Kunst. Den schönsten Blick auf das Museumsufer wie auch auf die Skyline hat man vom Eisernen Steg aus. Die 1869 gebaute Brücke ist eines der bekanntesten Baudenkmäler der Stadt. Und sie bringt die Fußgänger von „Hibb de Bach nach Dribb de Bach“, also vom Frankfurter Zentrum zum gegenüberliegenden Stadtteil Sachsenhausen. Dort sind sie zu finden, die originalen Frankfurter Äppelwoi-Kneipen, in denen zum „Stöffsche“ Rippchen mit Kraut serviert werden.

Grün ist die Stadt an vielerlei Orten: im Palmengarten, in den mehr als zehn, zum Teil historischen Parkanlagen, im Stadtwald, im GrünGürtel, im Botanischen Garten der Universität oder auch in den beiden Zoos.