Weiltal

The stunningly beautiful, natural Weiltal valley with its craggy protruding rocks is as popular with hikers and cyclists as it is with bikers and classic car enthusiasts. It stretches a good 47 kilometers, from the spring close to Rotes Kreuz (L 3025 between Königstein and Schmitten) to where it joins the Lahn near "Guntersau". Just one kilometer more will bring you to Weilburg, a former Baroque seat of power. In addition to quaint Taunus villages along the route, you can also admire "Burg Weilstein", the Landstein forester's lodge, the Mappes, Erbis and Runkelstein mills, and enjoy the view from the "Weiltalblick" observation point.

Schmitten

Schmitten occupies an idyllic location in the lovely Weiltal at the highest point of the Taunus. Surrounded by mountains and slopes with deciduous and pine forests, the town is the perfect destination all year round for relaxing vacation and leisure activities: for walks and hikes or trips up to the Grosser Feldberg, to the castle ruins in Oberreifenberg and Hattstein, to the Bassenheimer Palais or the heritage-protected churches in Niederreifenberg, Arnoldshain and Schmitten itself.

Tourismus- und Kulturverein e.V.
Parkstr. 2
61389 Schmitten
Tel.: +49 6084-4621
www.schmitten.de

Weilrod

Unspoilt nature, original scenery and wonderfully healthy air – Weilrod in the Naturpark Hochtaunus is a paradise for hiking and relaxing. Discover the fortifications at Altweilnau and Neuweilnau or one of the oldest vicarages in Germany on a tour through the Weiltal. Numerous cross-country skiing trails and wonderful sledging routes liven up the winter.

Gemeindeverwaltung Weilrod
Am Senner 1
61276 Weilrod
Tel.: +49 6083/9509-0
www.weilrod.de

Grävenwiesbach

Grävenwiesbach and, above all, its five rural suburbs have remained largely undiscovered by the tourist masses. It is a tranquil place, even on Sundays. Hikers will find lovely, undulating scenery offering deciduous and pine forests, and wide open fields. The Weiltalweg - the route through the Weil valley - runs close to Heinzenberg. The Baroque church in the core town of Grävenwiesbach is well worth a visit.

Gemeindeverwaltung Grävenwiesbach
Bahnhofsweg 2a
61279 Grävenwiesbach
Tel.: +49 6086/9611-0
www.graevenwiesbach.de

Weilmünster

Walkers and hikers will love Weilmünster, a large community with twelve suburbs: some 3,240 hectares of publicly-owned forest and 147 hectares of privately-owned woods with a huge density of red deer. The paths across the fields and through the forests are superbly suitable for hiking. The Möttauer Weiher is a tranquil lake that is popular among hobby fishermen.

Fremdenverkehrsbeauftragte
Frau Glaser
Am Bleidenbach 7
35789 Weilmünster
Tel.: +49 6472/91690
www.weilmuenster.de

Weinbach

Weinbach calls itself the springboard for activity enthusiasts! Situated ten minutes away from Weilburg, it offers outstanding conditions for water and fishing sports enthusiasts. It also has a solar-heated outdoor pool in a stunningly beautiful location. The Freienfels castle ruins are well worth a visit, offering a magnificent view over the Weiltal, as is the former moated castle in Elkershausen, which now houses a museum for contemporary art.

Gemeindeverwaltung Weinbach
Elkerhäuser Str. 17
35796 Weinbach
Tel.: +49 6471/9430-0
www.weinbach.de

Weilburg

Weilburg is home to a Baroque residence with one of the loveliest castle parks in Germany, and to a wonderful market square. The romantic Lahn river offers a host of experiences and can be discovered on bike or by canoe. Weilburg and its surroundings offer a plethora of sightseeing destinations, such as the former hunting park of the Count zu Nassau-Weilburg, the mining and town museum with its mining shaft system and – unique in Germany – a ship's tunnel and calcite crystal cave. The "Weilburger Schlosskonzerte" – a series of concerts at the castle in June and July – have become very popular.

Tourist-1
Mauerstr. 6
35781 Weilburg
Tel.: +49 6471/31467
www.weilburg.de

Weiltal

Von Wanderern und Radlern wie von Motorrad- und Oldtimerfahrern gleichermaßen geliebt ist das wunderschöne, naturnahe Weiltal mit seinen schroffen Felsnasen. Es führt von der Quelle in der Nähe des Roten Kreuzes (L 3025 zwischen Königstein und Schmitten) über gut 47 Kilometer bis zur Mündung in die Lahn bei der „Guntersau“. Nur einen Kilometer weiter taucht die barocke Residenzstadt Weilburg auf. An der Strecke liegen neben beschaulichen Taunus-Ortschaften u.a. „Burg Weilstein“, das Forsthaus Landstein, die Mappes-, Erbis- und Runkelsteiner Mühle und der Aussichtspunkt „Weiltalblick“.

Schmitten

Wo der Taunus am höchsten ist, liegt Schmitten idyllisch im schönen Weiltal. Umgeben von Bergen und Hängen mit Laub- und Nadelwäldern, bietet der Ort das ganze Jahr ideale Bedingungen für erholsame Urlaubs- und Freizeitgestaltung: für Spaziergänge und Wandertouren oder für Ausflüge auf den Großen Feldberg, zu den Burgruinen Oberreifenberg und Hattstein, zum Bassenheimer Palais oder den denkmalgeschützten Kirchen in Niederreifenberg, Arnoldshain und in Schmitten selbst.

Tourismus- und Kulturverein e.V.
Parkstr. 2
61389 Schmitten
Tel.: 06084-4621
www.schmitten.de

Weilrod

Intakte Natur, ursprüngliche Landschaft und herrlich gesunde Luft – Weilrod im Naturpark Hochtaunus präsentiert sich als Wander- und Erholungsparadies. Bei Touren durch das Weiltal kann man die Burganlagen von Alt- und Neuweilnau oder eines der ältesten Pfarrhäuser Deutschlands entdecken. Im Winter laden zahlreiche Loipen und reizvolle Möglichkeiten zum Schlittenfahren ein.

Gemeindeverwaltung Weilrod
Am Senner 1
61276 Weilrod
Tel.: 06083/9509-0
www.weilrod.de

Grävenwiesbach

Grävenwiesbach und vor allem seine fünf ländlich geprägten Ortsteile sind noch immer weitgehend unberührt von großen Ausflugsströmen. Hier ist man selbst am Sonntag fast ungestört. Dem Wanderer bietet sich eine gefällige, auf- und abschwingende Landschaft, in der sich Laub-, Nadelwälder und offene Fluren abwechseln. In der Nähe von Heinzenberg verläuft der Weiltalweg. Sehenswert in der Kerngemeinde Grävenwiesbach ist die Barockkirche.

Gemeindeverwaltung Grävenwiesbach
Bahnhofsweg 2a
61279 Grävenwiesbach
Tel.: 06086/9611-0
www.graevenwiesbach.de

Weilmünster

Spaziergänger und Wanderer finden in der Großgemeinde Weilmünster mit ihren zwölf Ortsteilen ein El Dorado: rund 3240 Hektar Staatswald und 147 Hektar Privatwald mit überdurchschnittlicher Rotwilddichte. Die Feld- und Waldwege sind als Wanderwege hervorragend ausgebaut. Ein beschauliches Ausflugsziel ist auch der Möttauer Weiher, an dem Angelsport betrieben werden kann.

Fremdenverkehrsbeauftragte
Frau Glaser
Am Bleidenbach 7
35789 Weilmünster
Tel.: 06472/91690
www.weilmuenster.de

Weinbach

Weinbach bezeichnet sich als Sprungbrett für Aktive! Zehn Minuten von Weilburg entfernt, warten hier hervorragende Bedingungen für Freunde des Wasser- und Angelsports. Auch ein wunderschön gelegenes, solarbeheiztes Freibad ist vorhanden. Sehenswert sind die Freienfelser Burgruine mit herrlichem Ausblick in das Weiltal und die ehemalige Wasserburg in Elkerhausen, die heute ein Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst beherbergt.

Gemeindeverwaltung Weinbach
Elkerhäuser Str. 17
35796 Weinbach
Tel.: 06471/9430-0
www.weinbach.de

Weilburg

Die barocke Residenz mit einem der schönsten Schlossgärten Deutschlands und ein herrlicher Marktplatz prägen Weilburg. Dem romantischen Lauf der Lahn lässt sich auf dem Fahrrad ebenso erlebnisreich folgen wie im Kanu. Weilburg und seine Umgebung bieten eine ganze Reihe sehenswerter Ausflugsziele, z.B. den ehemaligen Jagdpark des Grafen zu Nassau-Weilburg, das Bergbau- und Stadtmuseum mit einer Schaustollenanlage sowie – in Deutschland einzigartig – ein Schiffstunnel und eine Calcit-Kristallhöhle. Einen Namen haben sich schließlich auch die „Weilburger Schlosskonzerte“ im Juni und Juli gemacht.

Tourist-1
Mauerstr. 6
35781 Weilburg
Tel.: 06471/31467
www.weilburg.de