Churches

Erlöserkirche

Erlöserkirche

It is known as the "Hagia Sophia of Bad Homburg". And indeed, there are many similarities between the protestant "Church of the Redeemer" and the impressive building in Istanbul. The interior is neo-Byzantine, with rich marble clad walls, and gold mosaics on the ceiling. The six-armed cross of light in the intersecting dome is, however, more reminiscent of San Marco in Venice, while the image of Christ as the Lord of Heaven and Earth above the white marble altar resembles its counterpart in Ravenna.
Empress Auguste Viktoria had originally intended that the altar cross adorned with precious stones should go to the Church of the Redeemer in Jerusalem. She and Emperor Wilhelm II were responsible, both for the idea, and for the financing to build the Erlöserkirche. It was consecrated in 1908 and finally offered the protestant Christians enough room for their church services. When in Homburg, the Emperor himself attended the church, seated in the Imperial Box with its own access. Together with the White Tower, the mighty square towers of Erlöserkirche and those of the virtually neighboring catholic St. Marien-Kirche form the silhouette of Bad Homburg from a distance.

www.erloeserkirche-badhomburg.de
Map

Schlosskirche

Integrated into one of the wings of the castle, the secularized castle chapel is unprepossessing from the outside, but wonderfully restored in the inside. It was built in 1696 for the protestant-Lutheran Christians in the town, and also served as the sepulcher for the Landgraves. 77 members of the family are buried in the crypt beneath the sanctuary.
When the Erlöserkirche was completed in 1908, the castle chapel fell into neglect, and was only brought back to life by a citizens' initiative. The "Kuratorium Bad Homburger Schlosskirche" collected donations for the restoration, and brought new life to the historic building, which has been used for cultural events since 1989. The Bürgy organ, which dated back to the 1780s but only the front remained, was also rebuilt. It is one of eight organ treasures from different eras that constitute Bad Homburg's reputation as an organ town, and have made the FUGATO organ festival so well-known around the world.

Waldenser-Kirche

He might have been an absolute ruler, but Landgrave Friedrich II of Hessen-Homburg was a tolerant man when it came to religion. He granted asylum to French religious refugees. Among other acts, he gave 40 Waldensian families 200 morgens of land in Dornholzhausen in summer 1699. Dornholzhausen is now a suburb of Bad Homburg. The "réfugiés" first built a small wooden church, which was replaced in 1726 by the stone church that stands today. A further witness to these times survived along with the church: a French bible dated 1563. The protestant Waldensian congregation has about 1800 members.

St. Marien-Kirche

St. Marien-Kirche

Just a few steps from the protestant Erlöserkirche is the main catholic church in Bad Homburg: St. Marien-Kirche on Dorotheenstrasse was consecrated in 1895. It was designed by Mainz-based cathedral architect Ludwig Becker in neo-Gothic style. The walls and arches of the wide nave, the narrow aisles, and the short transept are painted sparingly. The chancel is adorned by a wreath of pointed arch windows.
In addition to the carved altars, three valuable works of art are also worth looking at: a linden Pietà from the Middle Rhine that dates back to around 1380, an oak crucifixion group from the Lower Rhine that dates back to around 1450, and a large, late Gothic crucifix that was probably designed by a Franconian craftsman around 1500.
In 1975, St. Marien-Kirche was fitted with a Klais organ. It combines the modern with the romantic, incorporating registers from the predecessor instrument, and thus enriches the "organ landscape" in Bad Homburg.

www.st-marien-hg.de
Map

Herz-Jesu-Kirche and Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche

Herz-Jesu-Kirche and Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche

Nowadays, Herz-Jesu-Kirche in the Gartenfeldsiedlung in the western part of town, and Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche in the eastern suburb of Gonzenheim belong to the parish of St. Marien. They were built after World War II when the number of Catholics in the population increased dramatically. Herz-Jesu-Kirche, which was consecrated in 1969, is a modern church with 420 seats. It is designed with a nave, a workday chapel, a baptism chapel, and a chapel dedicated to Mary.
Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche, which was built in 1952/53, soon proved to be too small and therefore became the first post-war church in Germany that had to be extended, in 1959/60. The parish community was, moreover, one of the few to demonstrate the courage to decorate its church in a contemporary figurative style.
Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche is home to an extremely rare Walker organ dating back to 1867. It is the only witness to the art of English organ building in the 19th century on the continent. It was originally installed in the English Church, but was no longer needed there. The low ceiling of the church had to be moved a bit to make room for it. The Walker organ was restored in 1994/95, for which the community earned the heritage protection award of the state of Hessen in 1995.

St. Johannes-Kirche

St. Johannes-Kirche

St. Johannes-Kirche is lovingly known as the "Taunus cathedral" as it is the largest church in the Vordertaunus. Located on a hill in the suburb of Kirdorf, its towers rise more than 50 meters in height. It was designed by Mainz-based cathedral architect Ignaz Opfermann in late Classical style with rounded arches, and was consecrated in 1862. The symmetry, identical design of the different parts of the building on both sides of the nave, and the position of the towers are characteristic of this style. The art nouveau painting on the inside walls was created between 1923 and 1925 by Augustin Kolb, a church painter and engraver from Güntersleben, together with his three sons, Waldemar, Alban and Ferdinand.
Hermann Dreymann, a member of the famous organ building family in Mainz, made the heritage-protected organ in 1861. It was restored by Klais in the mid-1960s, and a 3rd manual added.

www.st-johannes-hg.de
Map

Gedächtniskirche

This protestant church in the suburb of Kirdorf is special for one reason: It was donated by a citizen of Bad Homburg. After spending years as a financial and real estate broker in London, Johann Georg Dippel retired back to Bad Homburg. And realized that the protestant Christians in Kirdorf were in need of a church. Kirdorf used to be arch-catholic, but ever more protestants moved to the suburb when it was incorporated into the town of Bad Homburg in 1902. The "Church of Remembrance" was designed by the architect Heinrich Jacobi and consecrated on August 17, 1913.

The money donated for the church was, however, not sufficient to pay for the interior finish. So other members of the congregation donated the seven round windows that give the church its particularly attractive appearance. The focal point is the stained glass window above the altar, which depicts the Sermon on the Mount.
Emperor Wilhelm II gifted the pulpit, altar, font, candelabra and communion set from the 18th century. They were originally from the Schlosskirche, but were no longer needed there after the Erlöserkirche was consecrated.
In 1988, an organ from the Strasbourg workshop of Alfred Kern was installed in the Gedächtniskirche. It has since featured several times in the FUGATO organ festival.

Evangelische Kirche Gonzenheim

Predecessor churches had stood on the spot of today's protestant church in the suburb of Gonzenheim since the middle ages. The derelict tower was replaced with a new one in 1845. The new tower actually enabled Bad Homburg's master builder Louis Jacobi to build a new nave onto the tower in 1876.
The church interior was adapted to the taste of the times in the 1930s. Some of these changes were, however, reversed again when the church was renovated in 1977. The interior painting of the church as it is today was the result of renovation works in 1977. The restorers based it on the original color scheme from the 19th century, as can be seen, for example, on the Classical paneled ceiling or the pilaster strips. Remains from the original floral painting are visible to the left of the pulpit. The pulpit and benches have been professionally restored.

www.ev-kirchengemeinde-gonzenheim.de
Map

Christuskirche

It took ten years for what was then parish district 3 of the protestant Erlöserkirche to get its own church. The "Church of Christ" on Stettiner Strasse in the Berliner Siedlung was consecrated in June 1974. It had become necessary because the population of Bad Homburg was growing at a steady rate, even then. The parish gained independence in 1976. The artistically designed worship area of the church is topped by a striking pyramid roof.

Zur Himmelspforte

The protestant church To the Gates of Heaven" was consecrated in September 1731 in what was then the independent village of Ober-Eschbach. It is set back from Ober-Eschbacher Strasse and has been renovated several times over. The interior renovation at the end of the 1980s, early 1990s was based on the Classical style from the mid-19th century. It was enhanced with artistic decorations designed by the sculptor Christof Krause, who died in 2005, and the painter and graphic designer Margot Lindig. The small organ built by Wilhelm Bernhard in 1849 is a treasure, and forms part of the "organ landscape" of Bad Homburg.

St. Elisabeth-Kirche

St. Elisabeth is the youngest church in Bad Homburg, and was consecrated in December 1995.  When it was built in the "Leimenkaut" housing area, it marked the end of a temporary arrangement lasting decades for the catholics living in Ober-Eschbach, which was incorporated into Bad Homburg in 1972. The congregation was formed in 1946 following the settlement of, mostly, catholic refugees and repatriates, and was initially allowed to use the premises of the protestant Christians. The St. Elisabeth chapel was built in 1964 as an emergency solution but could only seat 100 worshippers.

St. Martin-Kirche

St. Martin-Kirche

The richly decorated Baroque church of St. Martin in Ober-Erlenbach, which has been a suburb of Bad Homburg since 1972, was built in 1765 under the auspices of Count Johann Philipp von Ingelheim. The Baroque high alter and the two side altars were moved in 1808 from the decommissioned Kloster Ilbenstadt to the church, which is very valuable from the point of view of art history.
The romantic organ, built in 1839 by the well-known Mainz-based organ builder Bernhard Dreymann, is a magnificent example of the art of organ building in the 19th century, and is part of the "organ landscape" of Bad Homburg. It was restored in 1985, and three registers were added in 1990 that Dreymann had originally planned but never installed.

Kirchen

Erlöserkirche

Erlöserkirche

Man nennt sie die „Bad Homburger Hagia Sophia“. Tatsächlich erinnert vieles in der evangelischen Kirche an Istanbuls beeindruckendes Bauwerk. Das Innere ist im neubyzantinischen Stil gestaltet: die Wände überaus reich mit Marmor verkleidet, die Decke mit Goldmosaiken überzogen. Das sechsarmige Lichtkreuz in der Vierungskuppel gleicht dagegen dem von San Marco in Venedig, Christus als Herr des Himmels und der Erden über dem weißen Marmoraltar erscheint wie in Ravenna.
Das mit Edelsteinen besetzte Altarkreuz hatte Kaiserin Auguste Viktoria ursprünglich für die Erlöserkirche in Jerusalem bestimmt. Sie und Kaiser Wilhelm II. zeichneten ideell und finanziell für den Bau der Erlöserkirche verantwortlich. Sie wurde 1908 geweiht und bot den evangelischen Christen endlich genügend Platz bei den Gottesdiensten. Der Kaiser selbst nahm, wenn er in Homburg weilte, in seiner Kaiserloge mit eigenem Zugang daran teil. Die mächtigen, quadratischen Türme der Erlöserkirche bestimmen zusammen mit denen der fast benachbarten, katholischen St. Marien-Kirche und dem Weißen Turm die Silhouette Bad Homburgs aus der Ferne.

www.erloeserkirche-badhomburg.de
Karte

Schlosskirche

Integriert in einen der Schlossflügel, ist die säkularisierte Schlosskirche äußerlich unscheinbar, doch ihr Inneres zeigt sich in einem herrlichen, restaurierten Zustand. Sie wurde 1696 für die evangelisch-lutherischen Christen der Stadt erbaut und diente zugleich als Grabstätte der landgräflichen Familie. In der Gruft unter dem Altarraum fanden 77 ihrer Mitglieder die letzte Ruhestätte.
Nach der Fertigstellung der Erlöserkirche 1908 fiel die Schlosskirche in einen Dornröschenschlaf, aus dem sie erst eine Bürgerinitiative erweckte. Das „Kuratorium Bad Homburger Schlosskirche“ sammelte Gelder für die Restaurierung und brachte neues Leben in die historischen Mauern, die seit 1989 für kulturelle Veranstaltungen genutzt werden. Rekonstruiert wurde auch die Bürgy-Orgel aus den 1780er Jahren, von der lediglich der Prospekt stehen geblieben war. Sie ist eine der acht wertvollen Orgeln aus unterschiedlichen Zeitepochen, die den Ruf Bad Homburgs als Orgelstadt und des renommierten Internationalen Orgel-Festivals FUGATO begründen.

Waldenser-Kirche

Landgraf Friedrich II. von Hessen-Homburg war zwar ein absolutistischer Herrscher, aber in religiösen Fragen ein toleranter Mann. Er gewährte französischen Glaubensflüchtlingen Asyl. Unter anderem gab er im Sommer 1699 40 Waldenser-Familien 200 Morgen Land in Dornholzhausen, dem heutigen Stadtteil Bad Homburgs. Die „Réfugiés“ bauten zunächst eine kleine Holzkirche, 1726 dann das heutige steinerne Gotteshaus. Neben der Kirche blieb ein weiteres Zeugnis dieser Zeit erhalten: eine französischsprachige Bibel von 1563. Die evangelische Waldenser-Kirchengemeinde hat etwa 1800 Gemeindeglieder.

St. Marien-Kirche

St. Marien-Kirche

Nur wenige Schritte von der evangelischen Erlöserkirche entfernt, steht in der Dorotheenstraße auch die katholische Hauptkirche Bad Homburgs, die 1895 geweihte St. Marien-Kirche. Der Mainzer Dombaumeister Ludwig Becker entwarf sie in neugotischer Form. Wände und Gewölbe des breiten Langschiffes, der schmalen Seitenschiffe und des kurzen Querschiffes sind sparsam bemalt. Ein Kranz hoher Spitzbogenfenster ziert den Chor.
Sehenswert sind neben den geschnitzten Altären auch drei wertvolle Kunstwerke: eine um 1380 geschaffene mittelrheinische Pietà aus Lindenholz, eine niederrheinische Kreuzigungsgruppe aus Eichenholz aus der Zeit um 1450 und ein großes spätgotisches Triumphkreuz, das wahrscheinlich ein fränkischer Meister um 1500 gestaltete.
1975 erhielt die St. Marien-Kirche eine Orgel der Bonner Firma Klais. Sie vereint den modernen mit dem romantischen Stil, weil Register aus dem Vorgängerinstrument eingefügt wurden und bereichert so die „Orgellandschaft“ Bad Homburgs.

www.st-marien-hg.de
Karte

Herz-Jesu-Kirche und Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche

Herz-Jesu-Kirche und Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche

Der Pfarrei St. Marien als Filialkirchen zugeordnet sind heute die Herz-Jesu-Kirche in der im westlichen Teil der Stadt gelegenen Gartenfeldsiedlung sowie die Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche im östlichen Stadtteil Gonzenheim. Sie entstanden nach dem 2. Weltkrieg, als der Anteil der katholischen Bevölkerung stark zunahm. Die moderne Herz-Jesu-Kirche mit 420 Sitzplätzen wurde 1969 geweiht. Sie ist in Hauptschiff und Werktagskapelle sowie Tauf- und Marienkapelle gegliedert.
Schon bald zu klein wurde die 1952/53 erbaute Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche, weshalb sie als erste Nachkriegskirche in der Bundesrepublik 1959/60 erweitert werden musste. Außerdem war die Pfarrgemeinde eine der wenigen, die in diesen Jahren den Mut zu zeitgenössischer bildnerischer Ausschmückung hatte.
In der Heilig-Kreuz-Kirche steht mit der Walker-Orgel von 1867 eine Rarität. Sie ist das einzige Instrument des englischen Orgelbaus im 19. Jahrhundert auf dem Kontinent. Ursprünglich hatte sie ihren Platz in der Englischen Kirche, wurde dort aber nicht mehr benötigt. Für ihren Einbau musste die niedrige Decke der Kirche ein Stück weichen. 1994/95 wurde die Walker-Orgel restauriert – und die Gemeinde dafür mit dem Denkmalschutzpreis des Landes Hessen 1995 ausgezeichnet.

St. Johannes-Kirche

St. Johannes-Kirche

Als „Taunusdom“ wird die St. Johannes-Kirche liebevoll bezeichnet – weil sie die größte Kirche im Vordertaunus ist. Auf einer Anhöhe im Stadtteil Kirdorf gelegen, erheben sich ihre Türme über 50 Meter hoch. Sie wurde von dem Mainzer Dombaumeister Ignaz Opfermann im spätklassizistischen Rundbogenstil entworfen und 1862 geweiht. Charakteristisch ist die Symmetrie, die Gleichgestaltung der Gebäudeteile beiderseits der Längsachse und die Stellung der Türme. Der Günterslebener Kirchenmaler und Holzschneider Augustin Kolb sowie seine drei Söhne Waldemar, Alban und Ferdinand schufen 1923 bis 1925 die Jugendstilausmalung im Inneren.
Von Hermann Dreymann aus der bekannten Mainzer Orgelbauer-Familie stammt die denkmalgeschützte Orgel von 1861. Mitte der 1960er Jahre wurde sie von der Bonner Firma Klais restauriert und um ein 3. Manual erweitert.

www.st-johannes-hg.de
Karte

Gedächtniskirche

Eine Besonderheit ist diese evangelische Kirche im Stadtteil Kirdorf: Sie wurde von einem Bad Homburger Bürger gestiftet. Johann Georg Dippel kehrte nach seiner jahrelangen Tätigkeit als Finanz- und Grundstücksmakler in London für den Ruhestand nach Bad Homburg zurück. Und er erkannte die Notwendigkeit, dass auch die evangelischen Christen in Kirdorf ein Gotteshaus brauchten. Kirdorf war urkatholisch, aber nach der Eingemeindung im Jahr 1902 zogen immer mehr evangelische Homburger in den neuen Stadtteil. Am 17. August 1913 wurde die von Architekt Heinrich Jacobi gestaltete Gedächtniskirche eingeweiht.

Für die Inneneinrichtung reichten die Stiftungsgelder allerdings nicht. So spendierten andere Gemeindemitglieder die sieben runden Fenster, die der besondere Schmuck der Kirche sind. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Fenster-Bild über dem Altar, auf dem die Bergpredigt Jesu dargestellt ist.
Kaiser Wilhelm II. schenkte der Gedächtniskirche Kanzel, Altar, Taufstein, Kronleuchter und Abendmahlsgeräte aus dem 18. Jahrhundert. Sie stammen aus der Schlosskirche und wurden dort nicht mehr gebraucht, da zuvor die Erlöserkirche eingeweiht worden war.
1988 erhielt die Gedächtniskirche eine Orgel aus der Straßburger Werkstatt von Alfred Kern, die mehrfach schon beim Orgelfestival FUGATO zum Einsatz kam.

Evangelische Kirche Gonzenheim

Seit dem Mittelalter standen Vorgängerbauten an der Stelle der heutigen evangelischen Kirche im Stadtteil Gonzenheim. 1845 ersetzte die Gemeinde den baufällig gewordenen Turm durch einen neuen und zwar so, dass Bad Homburgs großer Baumeister Louis Jacobi 1876 an den Turm ein neues Kirchenschiff anbauen konnte.
In den 1930er Jahren wurde das Innere der Kirche dem Geschmack der Zeit angepasst. Doch bei einer Renovierung 1977 wurden einige Veränderungen bereits wieder rückgängig gemacht. Die heutige Innenausmalung der Kirche geht auf eine Renovierung im Jahre 2001 zurück. Dabei legten die Restauratoren die ursprüngliche Farbgebung aus dem 19. Jahrhundert zugrunde, z.B. bei der klassizistischen Kassettendecke oder den Lisenen. Links neben der Kanzel sind Reste der ehemaligen floralen Ausmalung freigelegt. Kanzel und Bänke wurden fachgerecht aufgearbeitet.

www.ev-kirchengemeinde-gonzenheim.de
Karte

Christuskirche

Zehn Jahre dauerte es, bis der damalige Pfarrbezirk 3 der evangelischen Erlöserkirche sein eigenes Gotteshaus hatte. Die Christuskirche an der Stettiner Straße in der Berliner Siedlung wurde im Juni 1974 eingeweiht. Sie war notwendig geworden, weil Bad Homburgs Einwohnerzahl auch in diesen Jahren noch ständig stieg. 1976 wurde die Gemeinde selbstständig. Unter dem markanten Pyramidendach der Kirche befindet sich der künstlerisch ausgestaltete Gottesdienstraum.

Zur Himmelspforte

Im September 1731 wurde die evangelische Kirche „Zur Himmelspforte“ im damals noch eigenständigen Dorf Ober-Eschbach eingeweiht. Sie steht in der Bebauungsflucht der Ober-Eschbacher Straße und wurde mehrfach renoviert. Die Innenrenovierung Ende der 1980er, Anfang der 1990er Jahre richtete sich nach der klassizistischen Gestaltung aus der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Hinzu kam künstlerischer Schmuck, der von dem 2005 verstorbenen Bildhauer Christof Krause und der Malerin und Grafikerin Margot Lindig gestaltet wurde. Ein Kleinod und Teil der Bad Homburger „Orgellandschaft“ ist die 1849 gebaute, kleine Orgel von Wilhelm Bernhard.

St. Elisabeth-Kirche

St. Elisabeth ist die jüngste Kirche in Bad Homburg und wurde im Dezember 1995 geweiht. Mit ihrem Bau im Neubaugebiet „Leimenkaut“ endete für die Katholiken im 1972 nach Bad Homburg eingemeindeten Ober-Eschbach ein Jahrzehnte langes Provisorium. Der Zustrom von zumeist katholischen Flüchtlingen und Spätaussiedlern hatte 1946 zur Gründung der Gemeinde geführt, die zunächst Räume der evangelischen Christen mitnutzen konnten. 1964 wurde die Notkapelle St. Elisabeth errichtet, die jedoch nur 100 Gläubigen Platz bot.

St. Martin-Kirche

St. Martin-Kirche

Die reich ausgestattete Barockkirche St. Martin in Ober-Erlenbach, das seit 1972 ein Stadtteil Bad Homburgs ist, wurde 1765 unter dem Grafen Johann Philipp von Ingelheim gebaut. Der barocke Hochaltar und die beiden Seitenaltäre kamen 1808 aus dem aufgehobenen Kloster Ilbenstadt in die kunsthistorisch wertvolle Kirche.
Die romantische Orgel, 1839 von dem bekannten Mainzer Orgelbaumeister Bernhard Dreymann erbaut, ist ein Glanzstück der Orgelkunst des 19. Jahrhunderts und Teil der Bad Homburger „Orgellandschaft“. Sie wurde 1985 restauriert und erhielt 1990 drei Register, die Dreymann zwar vorgesehen, aber nicht eingebaut hatte.