Thai-Sala in the Park and Thai-Sala at the spring

Bad Homburg is the only place in the entire world - with the exception of Thailand itself - to boast two Thai-Salas in one town. The two brightly golden pavilions with their rich adornments are havens of tranquility and contemplation in the Kurpark, and evidence of the close bond that has existed between Thailand and Bad Homburg for more than 100 years. Their origins date back to 1907 when King Chulalongkorn of Siam came to the spa town to cure an illness. Out of gratitude, he gifted a temple to the town, which was made in Bangkok, dismantled, and shipped over in individual parts. The building arrived in Homburg at the end of 1910. Some parts had, however, gone missing and two-thirds of the glazed roofing tiles had broken. As a result of the delay, it was not until May 22, 1914 that the "Siamese Temple" as it was then known was inaugurated in the presence of Prince Mahidol of Siam. King Chulalongkorn had meanwhile died, in 1910.

In commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the King's stay, the Thai Royal Family decided to make a further visible gesture to demonstrate the bond: In 2007, King Bhumibol and Queen Sirikit gifted the second Thai-Sala to Bad Homburg. They only had one request: That the Sala be built at the Chulalongkorn spring, which is where the Monarch had originally intended his initial gift to be located. Back then, Bad Homburg had opted for the more prominent site in one of Lennè's visual axes ("Blickachsen"), but it fulfilled the request this time. Since then, the mineral spring that was discovered in 1907 and inaugurated by King Chulalongkorn himself has been adorned by the "Thai-Sala an der Quelle".

Members of the Thai Royal Family were frequent visitors to Bad Homburg. Every year, many Thai nationals living in Germany congregate at the Salas to celebrate the anniversary of the death of the Siamese Sovereign Chulalongkorn, who is revered to this day. In addition, Kur- und Kongress-GmbH organizes a two-day Thai Festival each year in summer on the site surrounding the "Thai-Sala im Park".

Thai-Sala im Park und Thai-Sala an der Quelle

Das gibt es weltweit – außer in Thailand selbst – nur in Bad Homburg: zwei Thai-Salas in einer Stadt. Die beiden der Ruhe und Einkehr dienenden, golden leuchtenden und reich verzierten Pavillons im Kurpark sind ein Zeichen der mehr als 100-jährigen engen Beziehungen zwischen Thailand und Bad Homburg. Sie begannen, als der kranke siamesische König Chulalongkorn 1907 in der Kurstadt Genesung fand. Aus Dankbarkeit schenkte er der Stadt einen Tempel, der in Bangkok gefertigt und in Einzelteile zerlegt auf die Seereise geschickt wurde. Ende 1910 traf das Bauwerk in Homburg ein, allerdings waren einige Teile verloren gegangen und zwei Drittel der glasierten Dachziegel zerbrochen. Der Aufbau verzögerte sich, und erst am 22. Mai 1914 konnte der damals so bezeichnete „Siamesische Tempel“ in Anwesenheit des Prinzen Mahidol von Siam eingeweiht werden. König Chulalongkorn war bereits 1910 gestorben.

Zur 100. Wiederkehr seines Kuraufenthaltes setzte das thailändische Königshaus 2007 ein weiteres sichtbares Zeichen der Verbundenheit: König Bhumibol und Königin Sirikit schenkten Bad Homburg die zweite Thai-Sala. Sie äußerten nur eine Bitte: Die Sala möge an der Chulalongkorn-Quelle errichtet werden, so wie es der Monarch für das von ihm gestiftete Bauwerk eigentlich vorgesehen hatte. Damals entschied sich Bad Homburg stattdessen für den prominenter liegenden Standort in einer der Lennéschen Blickachsen, diesmal entsprach die Stadt den Wünschen. Nun erhebt sich neben der 1907 entdeckten und von Chulalongkorn selbst eingeweihten Heilquelle die „Thai-Sala an der Quelle“.

Mitglieder des thailändischen Königshauses besuchten Bad Homburg mehrfach. Viele in Deutschland lebende Thailänder begehen jedes Jahr feierlich den Todestag des noch heute verehrten siamesischen Monarchen Chulalongkorn an den Salas. Und die Kur- und Kongreß-GmbH veranstaltet alljährlich im Sommer rund um die „Thai-Sala im Park“ ein zweitägiges Thai-Festival.