Galerie Scheffel

Galerie Scheffel brings the foremost artists of our time to Bad Homburg. For more than 30 years, it has been showcasing paintings, drawings, sculptures, and installations. Names start with Magdalena Abakanowicz and Louise Bourgois, and include Nigel Hall, Max Kaminski and Markus Lüpertz, right up to David Nash, Jaume Plensa and Bernar Venet, to name just a few.

Gallery owner Christian Scheffel is also the initiator and curator of "Blickachsen", the series of sculpture exhibitions that has gained world renown in the art scene. It gets its name from the historical axes of vision ("Blickachsen") created by the landscape architecture in the Bad Homburg Kurpark. Every two years, Christian Scheffel lovingly incorporates large sculptures by both well-known artists and young talents into these "axes". The open-air exhibitions have long since expanded to include the Castle Park, as well, and have meanwhile been extended into the Rhine-Main region.

Every "Blickachsen" year, in late summer, Christian Scheffel and the town of Bad Homburg also organize an exhibition in the English Church and at the gallery showing works by an artist who was also represented at the open-air exhibition earlier in the year.

"Blickachsen" is a joint project between Galerie Scheffel, the town of Bad Homburg, Kur- und Kongress-GmbH, and the administrative body for the state-owned castles and gardens in Hessen, and is supported by the Frankfurt RhineMain culture fund and other sponsors.

Galerie Scheffel GmbH
Ferdinandstraße 19
61348 Bad Homburg v. d. Höhe
Tel.: +49 (6172) 28906
Fax: +49 (6172) 28968
www.galerie-scheffel.de
Opening hours
Dienstag bis Freitag 14.00 - 19.00 Uhr, Sa. 11.00 - 15.00 Uhr
Map

Galerie Scheffel

Die Galerie Scheffel bringt sie nach Bad Homburg, die großen Künstler unserer Zeit. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren zeigt sie Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Skulpturen und Installationen. Die Namen beginnen mit Magdalena Abakanowicz und Louise Bourgois, gehen über Nigel Hall, Max Kaminski und Markus Lüpertz und reichen bis hin zu David Nash, Jaume Plensa und Bernar Venet, um nur einige zu nennen.

Galerist Christian Scheffel ist auch der Initiator und Kurator der in der weltweiten Kunstszene viel beachteten Ausstellungsreihe „Blickachsen“. Ihren Namen erhielt sie von den landschaftsarchitektonischen historischen Blickachsen des Bad Homburger Kurparks. In sie fügt Christian Scheffel alle zwei Jahre behutsam Großskulpturen bedeutender Bildhauer, aber auch junger Talente ein. Die Freiluftausstellungen  sind seit langem schon auch im Schlosspark vertreten und mittlerweile bis in die Rhein-Main-Region erweitert worden.

Jeden Spätsommer im „Blickachsen“-Jahr richten Christian Scheffel und die Stadt Bad Homburg zudem im Kulturzentrum Englische Kirche und in der Galerie eine Ausstellung mit Werken eines Künstlers aus, der bei der vorherigen Freiluftausstellung vertreten war.

„Blickachsen“ sind eine Gemeinschaftsveranstaltung der Galerie Scheffel, der Stadt Bad Homburg, der Kur- und Kongreß-GmbH und der Verwaltung der Staatlichen Schlösser und Gärten Hessen und werden unterstützt vom Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain sowie von Sponsoren.

Galerie Scheffel GmbH
Ferdinandstraße 19
61348 Bad Homburg v. d. Höhe
Tel.: (06172) 28906
Fax: (06172) 28968
www.galerie-scheffel.de
Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Freitag 14.00 - 19.00 Uhr, Sa. 11.00 - 15.00 Uhr
Karte