Twin towns

The people of Bad Homburg have been cosmopolitan ever since the mid-19th century, when guests from all around the world started coming to the spa town in search of health and recuperation. Since the end of World War 2, the people of Bad Homburg have demonstrated their eagerness to foster understanding across all borders by entering into town partnerships, of which it now has nine.

Back in 1956 the town took what was then a pioneering step when it founded a partnership ring, which initially comprised five European towns: Bad Mondorf in Luxembourg, Cabourg in France, Chur in Switzerland, Mayrhofen in Austria and Terracina in Italy. They were joined nine years later by Exeter in southern England.

Since 1953, the town had acted as sponsor for Marienbad / Marianske Lazne in what is now the Czech Republic. Following German reunification, in 1991, this liaison became an official partnership. It was followed, in July 1994, with the signing of the twinning contract with Peterhof in Russia, and in 2002, Dubrovnik in Croatia became Bad Homburg’s ninth twin town.

Bad Homburg fosters close and lively contact with its twin towns, which is not just limited to local politics and administration. Youth groups and school classes, and groups from clubs, associations, church congregations and other institutions pay visits back and forth at regular intervals. Public cultural programs fill the philosophy of cross-border understanding with life.

Bad Mondorf, Luxembourg

Bad Mondorf is a charming and tranquil town in the southwest of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg; a spa and vacation center with a particularly mild climate. The new spa center "Mondorf le Domaine Thermal" offers the very latest treatments and therapy facilities, together with sports and leisure facilities. The thermal springs in Bad Mondorf have proved to be particularly successful in treating liver and gall bladder disorders, rheumatic illnesses, and respiratory disorders.

Bad Mondorf is home to the only casino in all of Luxembourg, the "Casino 2000". The town spent 127 years trying to set up a casino. It finally opened in 1983, and offers a restaurant, dance floor, and entertainment program featuring internationally famous artists, in addition to the gambling saloons. Sights that are particularly worth seeing in Bad Mondorf include the Kurpark, which spans an area of about 50 hectares, the Baroque church built in 1766, and the Roman Fort. The Moselle valley, which is only eight kilometers away, and the capital Luxembourg City, which is also close by, are perfect destinations for excursions.

Accommodation facilities range from family-run B&Bs to a four-star hotel; modern conference and seminar facilities are also available. Connoisseurs will appreciate the numerous restaurants covering the entire spectrum from simple and hearty, to exclusive gourmet food. Tennis and squash, sauna and swimming pool, and a gym can be found at the sports and leisure club in Bad Mondorf.

Cabourg, France

Back in 1853, Cabourg was still a small fishing village, until Paris attorney Henri Durand-Morimbau decided to build a seaside resort next to the "old" Cabourg. He set up a company that bought up the beaches. Paul Leroux, a young architect from Caen, drafted the plans for the town of Cabourg-les-Bains. The first casino was built of wood in 1854, and hundreds of trees were planted along the boulevards. The first Grand Hotel opened in Cabourg in 1861.

A group of concerned residents built an accessible embankment in 1887, which was 1,800 meters long. In 1912, the town assumed responsibility for maintaining the embankment.

Writer Marcel Proust (1871 – 1922) spent every summer in Cabourg between 1907 and 1914, preferring to reside in the elegant Grand Hotel. This is where he wrote his novel "In Search of Lost Time". Such well-known personages as Edith Piaf and Gilbert Bécaud were also very regular visitors.

Nowadays, Cabourg is a seaside resort with a population of about 4,000. It is situated in the Lower Normandy region of France in the département of Calvados.

The town situated on the Côte Fleurie with its fine sandy beaches has lost none of its "Belle Epoque" charm, and is a two-hour drive from Paris. Equine enthusiasts from around the world flock to Cabourg, which is the center of French harness racing.  Harness races take place on the new track between April and October.

The wonderful 18-hole golf course on the coast and another 9-hole course will appeal to golf enthusiasts.

Chur, Switzerland

Chur Panorama im Winter, © Chur Tourismus/Andrea Badrutt

Fancy some magical mountains or vibrant urban buzz? Situated in the Alps, Chur can offer both. Picturesque alleyways and snow-capped mountains, modern shopping malls and unspoilt nature. But the oldest town in Switzerland is not just rooted in the past. The capital of the state of Graubünden is livened up by cultural events, bars and clubs, shopping centers and small shops. Full of urban joy of life, in the heart of a magical alpine landscape. Celts, Romans, Ostrogoths and Franconians all ruled over Chur at some time in history: it was the gateway to important trading routes and alpine crossings. What has remained is a history spanning more than 5,000 years, evidenced by finds from the Neolithic, Bronze and Roman ages, and by impressive edifices from more recent times, such as the 800 year-old cathedral at the Bishop's seat.

A guided tour around the town is a real journey of discovery for history enthusiasts.

The town even has its own mountain, the Brambrüesch, which is a haven for winter and summer sports alike. In summer, hikers can start out from Chur or visit vineyards in the Bündner Herrschaft region. Chur is the gateway to the Bündner mountains. 26 vacation and spa resorts are less than one hour's drive away from Chur.

The Swiss Bernina railway, which was added to Unesco's world cultural heritage in 2008, runs between the cantonal capital of Chur in the Swiss Rhine valley via St. Moritz and Pontresina in Engadin through the Valposchiavo to Tirano in the Italian region of Veltlin, and is regarded as the loveliest and only open route across the Alps.

Dubrovnik, Croatia

Dubrovnik,  Croatia

The "Pearl of the Adriatic", as Dubrovnik is frequently called, is regarded as the most fascinating and most impressive city in Croatia. After visiting the city, the Irish poet George Bernhard Shaw remarked: "Those who seek paradise on earth should come to Dubrovnik."

The rocky promontory was inhabited as early as Roman times – Dubrovnik itself dates back to the 7th century. Initially under Byzantine rule, Dubrovnik became a free city state in the mid-14th century, and remained independent until Napoleon occupied the city in 1806. The Congress of Vienna brought Dubrovnik into the Austro-Hungarian empire. Following World War I, Dubrovnik became part of the new Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, which was later to become Yugoslavia after the Second World War.

A lot of time may have passed, but the city has lost none of its charm and magic.
A visit to the city wall is a must when strolling around Dubrovnik. The mighty ridges and fortifications offer a magnificent view over the red clay tiles of the Old Town and out to the deep blue sea.

The main sightseeing attractions of the town definitely include the Sveti Spas Chapel of the Redeemer with its magnificent marble altars, which is located opposite the impressively huge Onofrio fountain, and the Franciscan monastery next door. Sponza Palace, built in the transitory style from late Gothic to Renaissance and situated opposite Sveti Vlaho, is one of the few buildings that survived the earthquake in 1667.
 
A tour of Dubrovnik should definitely include a visit to the Dominican monastery, which was originally located outside the city wall, and features an impressive cloister and a monastery museum that houses large-scale altarpieces.

The former junction of the trading routes between Venice and the eastern Mediterranean is a popular destination for cruise ships and yachts.

Exeter, Great Britain

(c) Tony Howell

Exeter is one of the oldest cities in Great Britain. Even before the Roman conquest (around 50 AD), the British Dumnonni tribe had settled in the area where Exeter now stands. The Romans built a settlement here, and surrounded their town with a wide fortified wall, which is largely still preserved to this day.  Now, as in earlier times, the old city wall encloses the lively center of Exeter with its modern retail and business district and numerous bustling shopping streets.

Exeter was an important Saxon stronghold in the 9th and 10th centuries, who withstood the Danes for a long time before finally capitulating in 1003. Exeter became a diocese in 1050. The city surrendered to William the Conqueror in 1068. The ruins of Rougemont Castle, built by William I the Conqueror in the 11th century are well worth a visit. St. Peter's Cathedral is, without doubt, the most famous building in Exeter, and was built between the years of about 1280 and 1369. The Gothic-style cathedral is famous for its unique transept towers. The cathedral library safeguards valuable manuscripts (including one called the Exeter Book, which dates back to the 10th century).

The Guildhall, built in the 15th century, is regarded as England's oldest city hall. The old customs house and the weavers' guild house are well worth a visit, as is Mol's coffee shop, which was a popular haunt of Francis Drake and Walter Raleigh.

To the west of Exeter lies Dartmoor, a wild moor landscape with forests and hills. There are numerous charming places to visit in the vicinity and on the coast of Devon, which is just 15 kilometers away. One highlight of the year is the Exeter Festival in July, where international artists present a colorful pot pourri of cultures.

Marienbad, Czech Republic

Marienbad, or Mariánské LáznÄ� as it is officially known, forms part of the so-called west Bohemian spa triangle, together with Carlsbad and Franzensbad, and is also known as the "Jewel among the Czech spas". The promenades stretch for nearly 70 kilometers and are ideal for strolling around the city with its impressive architecture from the 19th century. Numerous buildings have been lovingly restored in recent years.

There are about 40 mineral springs in Marienbad, which are mainly used to treat respiratory, kidney and urinary tract disorders, and the musculoskeletal system. The treatment of illnesses and spa applications have a long tradition in Marienbad. The reputation of the Czech spa attracted numerous artists and prominent people. Among the most famous spa guests were Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Richard Wagner, Johann Strauss, Stefan Zweig and Franz Kafka. King Edward VII of England was a particularly loyal guest, and visited Marienbad nine times in total.  Nowadays, the methods used for applications in the spa facilities are totally state of the art.

The city offers a very varied cultural program. Spa concerts take place in the famous Colonnades in summer; they are joined by theater performances, concerts and dance evenings. The annual Chopin Festival in August is the absolute high point. Day excursions should be taken to Eger, Carlsbad, Franzensbad or the Tepla Monastery with its unique library.

Mayrhofen, Austria

Mayrhofen is situated at the highest point of the Zillertal and offers its guests a broad selection of relaxation and sports facilities. The town is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Austria, thanks to its wonderful scenery and hospitable residents.

In summer and winter – Mayrhofen is the perfect choice for anyone looking to actively recharge their batteries. The tended hiking trails stretch for more than 200 kilometers and are particularly attractive for hill walkers and ramblers, as is "Zillertaler Hauptkamm", a nature reserve spanning 372 square kilometers. More adventurous guests can go kite flying, mountain biking, canoeing or wild water rafting. Summertime activities also include tennis and squash, and the adventure pool in Mayrhofen. The winter sports facilities are extensive in the skiing region. The area of more than four million square meters offers numerous cross-country skiing trails, sledging trails and curling courses, and an ice-skating rink.

Guests can enjoy the evenings in numerous cozy restaurants, pubs, bars and discos, and in the "Europahaus" cultural center. The people of Mayrhofen are particularly fond of their very young visitors, offering them special children's programs, a huge party in summer, four children's ski schools and "Wuppys Kinderland", a guest kindergarten for children aged between three months and seven years, in winter.

Peterhof, Russia

Peterhof, the former summer residence of the Russian Czars, is situated 29 kilometers to the west of St. Petersburg. During the warmer months, the world-famous "Russian Versailles" on the southern shores of the Gulf of Finland is a preferred destination for numerous visitors from around the world.

The origins of Peterhof date back to 1704, when Peter the Great built a simple timber house on the shore leading down to the Finnish Sea. When St. Petersburg became the capital of Russia in 1712, the construction of a generous palace complex designed to the ideas and plans of the Czar commenced. Peterhof was festively inaugurated as the Czar's residence in 1723. Work on the palace continued after Peter's death. Nowadays it is one of the most important palace garden complexes from the 18th and 19th centuries. Peterhof is particularly famous for the fountains and cascades in the palace park: the Grand Cascade alone comprises 17 statues, 29 reliefs, 142 water jets and 54 water sprays, and was created around 1725.

Nowadays, the town of Peterhof has a population of about 83,000. Guests enjoy the small cafés and restaurants, and affordable accommodation facilities. Peterhof is, moreover, home to the largest branch of St. Petersburg University, where all natural science faculties are housed.

Terracina, Italy

Terracina is situated one hundred kilometers to the south of Rome and was mentioned for the first time as a Roman colony in 329 BC. The town was not only important as a crossroads of the Via Appia and as a port; it also provided a refreshing summer destination for the citizens of Rome in search of rest and relaxation. To this day, a magnificent temple complex high above the town bears witness to this past: the 1st century BC Temple of Jupiter Anxur on Monte Sant' Angelo, which is 227 meters high.

Numerous monuments evidence the rich historic past of Terracina: The 12th century cathedral and the 13th century Venditti Palace, together with Palazzo Braschi, the residence of Pope Pius, which was inaugurated in 1795. Further sights worth seeing include the Forum Severiano and the Marina and Neptuniae hot springs.

Bathing is possible from April to October from the sandy beach, which is ten kilometers long. Terracina enjoys about 530 more hours of sunshine each year than Venice, which is why the famous, sun-blessed Muscatel wine from Terracina grows on the slopes of Monti Ausoni. Accommodation is available in all price categories in numerous hotels, B&Bs or on the large camping site. Delicious Italian cuisine and the Mediterranean hospitality of the residents guarantee an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Partnerstädte

Weltoffen sind die Bad Homburger, seitdem ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts  Gäste aus vielen Ländern der Erde Gesundheit und Erholung in der Kurstadt suchten. Den Willen zur Verständigung über die Grenzen hinweg bekundeten die Bad Homburger nach dem 2. Weltkrieg durch mittlerweile neun Städtepartnerschaften.

Bereits 1956 gelang der Stadt eine – für damalige Zeiten – Pionierleistung: Sie gründete einen Partnerschaftsring, dem zunächst fünf europäische Städte angehörten: Bad Mondorf in Luxemburg, Cabourg in Frankreich, Chur in der Schweiz, Mayrhofen in Österreich und Terracina in Italien. Neun Jahre später kam die südenglische Stadt Exeter dazu.

Nach der „Wende“ ging die seit 1953 bestehende Patenschaft für Marienbad / Marianske Lazne in der heutigen Tschechischen Republik 1991 in eine offizielle Partnerschaft über. Im Juli 1994 folgte der Vertrag mit Peterhof in Russland und im Jahr 2002 wurde Dubrovnik in Kroatien die neunte Partnerstadt Bad Homburgs.

Bad Homburg pflegt mit seinen Partnerstädten einen regen Austausch, der sich nicht nur auf die kommunalpolitische und Verwaltungsebene beschränkt. Jugendgruppen und Schulklassen, Gruppen aus Vereinen, Verbänden, Kirchengemeinden und anderen Institutionen besuchen sich in regelmäßigen Abständen gegenseitig. Auch öffentliche kulturelle Programme beleben den Gedanken des Miteinanders über Grenzen hinweg.

Bad Mondorf, Luxemburg

Ein charmanter Erholungsort im Südwesten des Großherzogtums Luxemburg, ein Kur- und Ferienzentrum mit besonders mildem Klima: das ist Bad Mondorf. Das neue Kurzentrum "Mondorf le Domaine Thermal" bietet modernste Anwendungs- und Therapieeinrichtungen sowie Sport- und Freizeitanlagen. Die Thermalquellen Bad Mondorfs haben sich vor allem bei Leber und Gallenblasenleiden sowie rheumatischen Krankheiten und Atembeschwerden bewährt.

In Bad Mondorf gibt es die einzige Spielbank Luxemburgs, das "Casino 2000". Die Gemeinde hatte sich 127 Jahre um die Einrichtung einer Spielbank bemüht. Das 1983 eröffnete Kasino bietet neben den Spielsälen auch Gastronomie, Tanz und ein Unterhaltungsprogramm mit international bekannten Künstlern. Besondere Sehenswürdigkeiten in Bad Mondorf sind der knapp 50 Hektar große Kurpark, die 1766 erbaute Barockkirche sowie das römische Kastell. Das nur acht Kilometer entfernte Moseltal sowie die nahegelegene luxemburgische Hauptstadt laden zu Ausflügen ein.

Von der Familienpension bis zum Vier-Sterne-Hotel reicht das Angebot der Hotellerie, ebenso stehen moderne Tagungs- und Seminarräume zur Verfügung. Feinschmecker finden in den zahlreichen Restaurants die ganze Palette zwischen gutbürgerlicher Küche und exklusivem Gourmet-Restaurant. Zu Tennis, Squash, Sauna und Schwimmen sowie ins Fitneßzentrum lädt der Sport- und Freizeitclub Bad Mondorfs ein.

Cabourg, Frankreich

Noch 1853 war Cabourg ein kleines Fischerdorf, bis ein Pariser Advokat, Henri Durand-Morimbau, beschloss, neben dem „alten“ Cabourg ein Seebad zu errichten. Er gründete eine Gesellschaft, die die Strände aufkaufte. Paul Leroux, ein junger Architekt aus Caen, entwarf den Plan der Stadt Cabourg-les-Bains. Das erste Casino wurde 1854 aus Holz erbaut und Hunderte von Bäumen wurden entlang der geplanten Alleen gepflanzt. 1861 wurde das erste Grand Hotel in Cabourg gebaut.

Von einer Gruppe besorgter Bürger wurde 1887 ein begehbarer Deich gebaut, der 1.800 Meter lang war. 1912 übernahm die Stadt die Unterhaltung des Deiches.

Von 1907 bis 1914 verbrachte der Schriftsteller Marcel Proust (1871 – 1922) jeden Sommer in Cabourg. Bevorzugt wohnte er im noblen Grand Hotel. Hier schrieb er auch seinen Roman „Auf der Suche nach der verlorenen Zeit“. Bekannte Namen wie Edith Piaf und Gilbert Bécaud gingen hier später ebenfalls aus und ein.

Cabourg ist heute ein Seebad mit ca. 4000 Einwohnern in der französischen Region Basse-Normandie im Département Calvados.

Die an der Côte Fleurie mit ihrem feinen Sandstrand gelegene Stadt hat bis heute den Charme der "Belle Epoque" bewahrt und ist von Paris aus in zwei Stunden zu erreichen. Pferdeliebhaber aus aller Welt treffen sich in Cabourg, denn der Ort ist das französische Zentrum des Trabrennsports. Auf der neuen Pferderennbahn finden von April bis Oktober Trabrennen. statt.

Ein herrlicher, am Meer gelegener 18-Loch Golfplatz und ein 9-Loch Platz laden zum Golfspiel ein.

Chur, Schweiz

Chur Panorama im Winter, © Chur Tourismus/Andrea Badrutt

Lust auf Bergzauber oder pulsierendes Stadtleben? Die Alpenstadt Chur bietet beides. Malerische Gassen und schneebedeckte Berge, moderne Einkaufszentren und unverfälschte Natur. Die älteste Stadt der Schweiz ist aber nicht nur von gestern. Kulturveranstaltungen, Bars und Klubs, Museen, Shoppingcenter und kleine Läden beleben die Hauptstadt Graubündens. Voller urbaner Lebenslust, inmitten einer alpinen Zauberwelt. Kelten, Römer, Ostgoten, Franken, sie alle beherrschten einst Chur als Tor zu wichtigen Handelsrouten und Alpenübergängen. Geblieben sind eine über 5000jährige Geschichte, belegt durch jungsteinzeitliche, bronzezeitliche und römische Funde sowie aus der jüngeren Vergangenheit beeindruckende Bauten wie die 800jährige Kathedrale am Bischofssitz.

Für Geschichtshungrige bietet eine Stadtführung eine wahre Entdeckungsreise.

Mit dem Hausberg Brambrüesch besitzt die Stadt ein eigenes Winter- und Sommersportgebiet. Im Sommer lassen sich von Chur aus Wanderungen und Weingutbesichtigungen in der Bündner Herrschaft unternehmen. Chur ist das Tor zu den Bündner Bergen: 26 Ferien- und Kurorte sind in weniger als einer Stunde von Chur aus erreichbar

Die im Jahr 2008  von der Unesco als Welterbe gekürte Schweizer Bernina-Bahn führt zwischen der Kantonshauptstadt Chur im schweizerischen Rheintal über St. Moritz und Pontresina im Engadin durch das Valposchiavo bis nach Tirano im italienischen Veltlin und gilt als schönste und einzige offene Alpenüberquerung.

Dubrovnik, Kroatien

Dubrovnik, Kroatien

Die „Perle der Adria“ wie Dubrovnik häufig genannt wird, gilt als die faszinierendste und beeindruckendste Stadt Kroatiens. Der irische Dichter George Bernhard Shaw sagte nach einem Besuch dieser Stadt: „Diejenigen, die das Paradies auf Erden suchen, sollten nach Dubrovnik kommen.“

Schon die Römer siedelten auf dem Felsvorsprung - Dubrovnik selbst geht auf das 7. Jahrhundert zurück. Zunächst unter byzantinischer Herrschaft stehend, wurde Dubrovnik Mitte des 14. Jahrhunderts freie Stadtrepublik und blieb es, bis Napoleon die Stadt 1806 besetzte. Der Wiener Kongress brachte ihr den Anschluss an Österreich-Ungarn. Nach dem 1. Weltkrieg wurde Dubrovnik Teil des neuen Königreiches der Serben, Kroaten und Slowenen, aus dem nach dem 2. Weltkrieg Jugoslawien hervorging.

Auch wenn inzwischen viele Zeit vergangen ist, der Reiz und der Zauber der Stadt sind geblieben.
Bei einem Bummel durch Dubrovnik sollte man auf keinen Fall die Stadtmauer auslassen. Von den mächtigen Wällen und Befestigungsanlagen genießt man einen herrlichen Ausblick über die roten Tondächer der Altstadt und das tiefblaue Meer.

Zu den Hauptsehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt zählt sicherlich die gegenüber des beeindruckenden großen Onofrio-Brunnens gelegene Erlöserkapelle Sveti Spas mit Ihren prächtigen Marmoraltären sowie das Franziskanerkloster direkt nebenan. Der im Übergangsstil von der Spätgotik bis zur Renaissance erbaute Sponza-Palast schräg gegenüber von Sveti Vlaho zählt zu den wenigen Gebäuden, die das Erdbeben von 1667 überstanden haben.
 
Auch das einstmals außerhalb der Stadtmauer gelegene Dominikanerkloster mit seinem beeindruckenden Kreuzgang und den im Klostermuseum untergebrachten großformatigen Altarbildern sollte auf dem Rundgang durch Dubrovnik nicht ausgelassen werden.

Der frühere Knotenpunkt der Handelswege zwischen Venedig und dem östlichen Teil des Mittelmeers ist beliebter Anlaufpunkt für Kreuzfahrtschiffe und Yachten.

Exeter, Großbritannien

(c) Tony Howell

Exeter zählt zu den ältesten Städten Großbritanniens. Vor der Eroberung durch die Römer (etwa 50 n. Chr.) lag an der Stelle des heutigen Exeter eine Siedlung des britischen Stammes der Dumnoni. Die Römer errichteten hier eine Siedlung und umgaben ihre Stadt  mit einer breiten Wallanlage, die heute noch zu großen Teilen  erhalten ist.  Heute wie früher liegt innerhalb der alten Stadtmauer das lebendige Zentrum Exeters, mit einem modernen Handels- und Geschäftsviertel und vielen betriebsamen Einkaufsstraßen

Im 9. und 10. Jahrhundert war Exeter eine wichtige Bastion der Sachsen, die den Angriffen der Dänen lange standhielt, 1003 aber dennoch eingenommen wurde. 1050 wurde Exeter zum Bistum. William der Eroberer nahm die Stadt im Jahr 1068 ein. Sehenswert sind auch die Ruinen der von William I. dem Eroberer im 11. Jahrhundert erbauten Burg Rougemont. Sicherlich das berühmteste Bauwerk in Exeter ist die Kathedrale Saint Peter, die in den Jahren zwischen etwa 1280 und 1369 errichtet wurde. Die im gotischen Stil gehaltene Kirche ist wegen ihrer einzigartigen Querschifftürme bekannt. In der Bibliothek der Kathedrale befinden sich viele wertvolle Manuskripte (darunter eines aus dem 10. Jahrhundert mit dem Namen Exeter Book).

Die Guildhall aus dem 15. Jahrhundert gilt als ältestes Rathaus Englands, sehenswert sind auch das alte Zollhaus und das Zunfthaus der Weber sowie das schon bei Francis Drake und Walter Raleigh beliebte Mol's Kaffeehaus.

Westlich von Exeter liegt Dartmoor, eine wilde Sumpflandschaft mit Wäldern und Bergen. In der Umgebung und an der nur 15 Kilometer entfernten Küste von Devon laden viele reizvolle Orte zum Besuch ein. Ein Höhepunkt des Jahres ist das Exeter-Festival im Juli, wenn internationale Künstler ein buntes Potpourri der Kulturen präsentieren.

Marienbad, Tschechien

Marienbad, das gemeinsam mit Karlsbad und Franzensbad zum sogenannten westböhmischen Kurortdreieck gehört, wird auch als "Juwel der tschechischen Bäder" bezeichnet. Rund 70 Kilometer Promenadenwege laden zu Spaziergängen durch die Stadt ein, deren Bild von der imposanten Architektur des 19. Jahrhunderts geprägt ist. Zahlreiche Gebäude wurden in den letzten Jahren liebevoll restauriert.

In Marienbad gibt es etwa 40 Heilquellen, die Hauptindikationen sind Erkrankungen der Atem-, Nieren- und Harnwege sowie des Bewegungsapparates. Die Behandlung von Krankheiten und das Kurwesen haben in Marienbad lange Tradition. Der Ruf des tschechischen Heilbades zog viele Künstler und Prominente an. Zu den berühmtesten Kurgästen zählten Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Richard Wagner, Johann Strauß, Stefan Zweig und Franz Kafka. Der englische König Eduard VII. gehörte zu den besonders treuen Besuchern der Stadt, insgesamt kam er neunmal nach Marienbad. Heute werden bei den Anwendungen in den Kureinrichtungen modernste Methoden angewandt.

Abwechslungsreich ist das kulturelle Angebot der Stadt: Im Sommer werden in den berühmten Kolonnaden Kurkonzerte veranstaltet, es gibt Theatervorstellungen, Konzerte und Tanzabende. Höhepunkt ist das jährliche Chopin-Festival im August. Tagesausflüge führen nach Eger, Karlsbad, Franzensbad oder ins Stift Tepl mit seiner einzigartigen Bibliothek.

Mayrhofen, Österreich

Am Scheitelpunkt des Zillertals gelegen, bietet Mayrhofen seinen Gästen eine Vielzahl von Erholungs- und Sportmöglichkeiten. Die Gemeinde ist einer der beliebtesten österreichischen Tourismusorte, was sie der herrlichen Landschaft und ihren gastfreundlichen Einwohnern verdankt.

Im Sommer und im Winter - Mayrhofen ist ein Geschenk an alle, die aktive Erholung suchen. Die über 200 Kilometer langen, gepflegten Wanderwege sowie das 372 Quadratkilometer große Naturschutzgebiet "Zillertaler Hauptkamm" sind für Bergwanderer und Spaziergänger besonders attraktiv. Wer es abenteuerlicher mag, kann Drachenfliegen, Mountainbiken, Paddeln oder bei Wildwasserfahrten mit dem Raftingboot mitmachen. Tennis- und Squashanlagen sowie das Mayrhofener Erlebnisbad runden das Sommeraktiv-Programm ab. Der Winter bietet ausgiebiges Sportvergnügen im über vier Millionen Quadratmeter großen Skigebiet, außerdem gibt es zahlreiche Langlaufloipen, Rodel- und Eisstockbahnen sowie einen Eislaufplatz.

Unterhaltung am Abend finden die Gäste in zahlreichen gemütlichen Lokalen, Pubs, Bars und Diskotheken sowie im Veranstaltungszentrum "Europahaus". Besonders am Herzen liegen den Mayrhofenern ihre jüngsten Besucher; auf sie warten eigene Kinderprogramme, ein großes Fest im Sommer, vier Kinderskischulen und "Wuppys Kinderland", ein Gästekindergarten für Kinder von drei Monaten bis sieben Jahren, im Winter.

Peterhof, Russland

29 Kilometer westlich von St. Petersburg liegt Peterhof, die ehemalige Sommerresidenz der russischen Zaren. In der warmen Jahreszeit ist das weltberühmte "russische Versailles" am Südufer des Finnischen Meerbusens Reiseziel von unzähligen Besuchern aus aller Welt.

Die Anfänge von Peterhof reichen in das Jahr 1704 zurück. Damals ließ Peter der Große an dem zum finnischen Meer abfallenden Ufer ein einfaches Holzhaus errichten. Als 1712 St. Petersburg russische Hauptstadt wurde, begann man mit dem Bau einer großzügigen Palastanlage nach den Vorstellungen und Entwürfen des Zaren. 1723 wurde Peterhof als Zarenresidenz feierlich eingeweiht. An der Anlage wurde auch nach Peters Tod weitergebaut. Sie gehört heute zu den bedeutendsten Schloßparkensembles des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts. Bekannt wurde Peterhof vor allem durch die Fontänen und Wasserspiele im Schloßpark: allein die um 1725 entstandene Große Kaskade umfasst 17 Statuen, 29 Reliefe, 142 Wasserstrahlen und 64 Wasserspeier.

Die Stadt Peterhof hat heute etwa 83 000 Einwohner. Für Gäste gibt es kleine Cafes und Restaurants sowie preiswerte Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten. Peterhof beherbergt zudem die größte Dependance der St. Petersburger Universität mit allen naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultäten.

Terracina, Italien

Hundert Kilometer südlich von Rom liegt Terracina, das schon 329 vor Christus als Kolonie römischer Bürger erwähnt wird. Die Stadt hatte nicht nur als Kreuzungspunkt der Via Appia und als Hafen Bedeutung, sie war auch Sommerfrische für erholungsbedürftige römische Bürger. Von dieser Vergangenheit zeugt noch heute eine gewaltige Tempelanlage hoch über der Stadt: Der Jupiter-Anxur-Tempel aus dem 1. Jahrhundert vor Christus auf dem 227 Meter hohen Monte Sant' Angelo.

Zahlreiche Baudenkmäler erinnern an die reiche historische Vergangenheit Terracinas: Die Kathedrale aus dem 12. und der Palast Venditti aus dem 13. Jahrhundert sowie die 1795 eingeweihte Residenz von Papst Pius, der Palazzo Braschi. Weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten sind das Forum Severiano und die Thermen Marina und Neptuniae.

Am zehn Kilometer langen Sandstrand kann von April bis Oktober gebadet werden, und die Sonne scheint in Terracina jährlich rund 530 Stunden länger als in Venedig. An den Abhängen der Monti Ausoni wächst deshalb auch der sonnenverwöhnte, berühmte Muscateller aus Terracina. Zahlreiche Hotels und Pensionen sowie ein großer Campingplatz bieten Unterkünfte in jeder Preisklasse. Die vorzügliche italienische Küche sowie die mediterrane Herzlichkeit der Einwohner sind die Garanten für einen erholsamen Aufenthalt.