English Church

The sacred atmosphere adds a very special touch to concerts, readings, cabaret performances, and exhibitions, which is why the English Church, which was secularized in 1914, is so immensely popular with both visitors and performers alike. The center of culture serves as the Kleines Haus - the small venue - in Bad Homburg, and mainly stages cabaret performances.

The English Church was built at the request of the numerous spa guests from the British island. They loved coming to take the waters in Homburg v. d. Höhe during the season, especially since the Prince of Wales, who was later to become King Edward VII, was a regular visitor to the spa town. In order to fulfill their request for their own church, Landgrave Ferdinand donated the land from the estate of the deceased "English Landgrave" Elizabeth. Christian Holler started building the church in 1861, and it was consecrated on September 2, 1868 by the Lord Bishop of London. From 1914 onwards, the building served as a museum of local history and a town concert hall before being refurbished and converted into a cultural center in 1990.

For information about events taking place in the English Church, please contact the Culture & Education department of the town council (Magistrat, Fachbereich Kultur & Bildung) at Tel. +49 (0)6172 100-4114, E-mail: , or Tourist Info + Service in the Kurhaus at Tel. +49 (0)6172 178-3710.

Kulturzentrum Englische KircheKulturzentrum Englische Kirche
Ferdinandsplatz
61348 Bad Homburg v. d. Höhe
Tel.: +49 (6172) 100-4114

Map

Englische Kirche

Konzerte, Lesungen, Kabarett und Ausstellungen erhalten durch die sakrale Atmosphäre eine besondere Note. Deshalb ist die 1914 säkularisierte Englische Kirche bei Besuchern wie auch Künstlern ausgesprochen beliebt. Das Kulturzentrum gilt als das „Kleine Haus“ Bad Homburgs, in dem hauptsächlich die Kleinkunst ihre Bühne findet.

Die Englische Kirche entstand auf Wunsch der zahlreichen Kurgäste von der britischen Insel. Sie fuhren gerne in der Saison zur Kur nach Homburg v. d. Höhe, besonders als der Prince of Wales, der spätere König Edward VII., regelmäßig in der Kurstadt weilte. Um ihren Wunsch nach einem eigenen Gotteshaus nachzukommen, stellte Landgraf Ferdinand den Bauplatz aus dem Nachlass der verstorbenen „englischen Landgräfin“ Elizabeth zur Verfügung. Christian Holler erbaute die Kirche ab 1861, die Einweihung nahm am 2. September 1868 der Lord-Bischof von London vor. Nach 1914 diente das Gebäude u.a. als Heimatmuseum und städtischer Konzertsaal, bis es 1990 saniert und zum Kulturzentrum ausgebaut wurde.

Informationen zu den Veranstaltungen in der Englischen Kirche beim Magistrat, Fachbereich Kultur & Bildung, unter Tel. (06172) 100-4114, Email: , oder bei Tourist Info + Service im Kurhaus unter Tel. (06172) 178-3710.

Kulturzentrum Englische KircheKulturzentrum Englische Kirche
Ferdinandsplatz
61348 Bad Homburg v. d. Höhe
Tel.: (06172) 100-4114

Karte